LH God Beyond Borders: Building Interfaith Bridges and Dialogue
LM Faith Community Governance, Management and Administration
Religion in contemporary society
Religion in Contemporary Global Politics
The above is not an exhaustive list of relevant resource lists relating to Faith, Religion and Belief. You can search for more available resource lists at resourcelists@bham
Here is a small selection of titles from the library catalogue, taken from the resource lists featured:
The Interpretation of Cultures by
One of the twentieth century's most influential books, this classic work of anthropology offers a groundbreaking exploration of what culture is With The Interpretation of Cultures, the distinguished anthropologist Clifford Geertz developed the concept of thick description, and in so doing, he virtually rewrote the rules of his field. Culture, Geertz argues, does not drive human behavior. Rather, it is a web of symbols that can help us better understand what that behavior means. A thick description explains not only the behavior, but the context in which it occurs, and to describe something thickly, Geertz argues, is the fundamental role of the anthropologist. Named one of the 100 most important books published since World War II by the Times Literary Supplement, The Interpretation of Cultures transformed how we think about others' cultures and our own. This definitive edition, with a foreword by Robert Darnton, remains an essential book for anthropologists, historians, and anyone else seeking to better understand human cultures.
Religion and Modern Society by
Religion is now high on the public agenda, with recent events focusing the world's attention on Islam in particular. This book provides a unique historical and comparative analysis of the place of religion in the emergence of modern secular society. Bryan S. Turner considers the problems of multicultural, multi-faith societies and legal pluralism in terms of citizenship and the state, with special emphasis on the problems of defining religion and the sacred in the secularisation debate. He explores a range of issues central to current debates: the secularisation thesis itself, the communications revolution, the rise of youth spirituality, feminism, piety and religious revival. Religion and Modern Society contributes to political and ethical controversies through discussions of cosmopolitanism, religion and globalisation. It concludes with a pessimistic analysis of the erosion of the social in modern society and the inability of new religions to provide 'social repair'.
Religion in Britain by
"This important book describes as accurately as possible the religious situation of Great Britain at the end of the twentieth century, and evaluates this evidence within a sociological framework. Two key themes emerge within the book. The first concerns the growing mismatch between indices of religious belief in this country, which remain relatively high, and statistics which reflect either religious membership (in its strict sense) or religious practice, both of which demonstrate a marked decline in the post-war period. Hence the phrase 'believing without belonging' which becomes, almost, a refrain within the book. The sacred persists but not necessarily in traditional forms. The second theme concerns the European framework within which the book is set. As Britain moves inexorably - if not always very steadily - to a greater European identity, the considerable variety of religious cultures within the United Kingdom take on a new significance."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Understanding Interreligious Relations by
The ways in which religious communities interact with one another is an increasing focus of scholarly research and teaching. Issues of interreligious engagement, inclusive of dialogue more specifically and relations more generally, attract widespread interest and concern. In a religiouslypluralist world, how different communities get along with each other is not just an academic question; it is very much a focus of socio-political and wider community attention. The study of religions and religion in the 21st century world must necessarily take account of relations within and betweenreligions, whether this is approached from a theological, historical, political, or any other disciplinary point of view.Understanding Interreligious Relations is a reference work of relevance to students and scholars as well as of interest to a wider informed public. It comprises two main parts. The first provides expositions and critical discussions of the ways in which "the other" has been construed and addressedfrom within the major religious traditions. The second presents analyses and discussions of key issues and topics in which interreligious relations are an integral constituent.The editors have assembled an authoritative and scholarly work that discusses perspectives on the religious "other" and interreligious relations that are typical of the major religious traditions; together with substantial original chapters from a cross-section of emerging and established scholarson main debates and issues in the wider field of interreligious relations.
This is a selection of the databases available online. For help with searching for databases relevant to your search topic please see our guide to effective search techniques
Use Browzine to browse and explore our wide range of journals. Watch our guide to see how it works.
Browse through the sections on philosophy and religion to find the majority of journals for this topic.
If you wish to find a specific database, there is a general search facility within Browzine.
Birmingham Qur'an: The Birmingham Qur'an and the Mingana collection holds over 3,000 Middle Eastern manuscripts in more than 20 languages, including Arabic, Syriac, Ethiopic, Georgian, Hebrew, Samaritan and Armenian (Cadbury Research Library, UoB, accessed May 2022)
Cadbury Research Library: Home of the University of Birmingham's extensive Special Collections of rare books, manuscripts, archives, photographs and associated artefacts (Cadbury Research Library, UoB, accessed May 2022)
House of Commons Library Paper: Research paper on gender specific religious persecution
UOB Guild of students groups: This search engine will enable you to find faith groups within the student union
University Chaplaincy: Multi faith chaplaincy at St Francis' Hall on the Edgbaston Campus
UNHR Report: United Nations report on freedom of religion or belief and gender equality
BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely. Explore this Faith, Religion and Belief playlist.