The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains Writs of privy seal from the reigns of Edward I and II which are not mentioned in the Inquisitions or enrolled in Fine, Close, Charter or Patent Rolls.
Charter Rolls contained copies of formal grants by the Crown of privileges, lands, and other possessions to corporations and individuals. After 1516 such grants were made in the form of letters patent, and from the reign of Charles I appear in the Patent Rolls. Charter Rolls differ from letters patent in that they are made in the presence of witnesses.
Close Rolls were so called because the letters copied therein were folded and ‘closed’; ie sealed with the Great Seal. They usually contained instructions and orders from the sovereign. From about 1540 they gradually ceased to be used to record the administration of government, whilst the long-standing practice of using the reverse (ie the back) of the Close Rolls for the enrolment of private deeds increased. Thus, later Close Rolls are often blank, apart from on the reverse.
Fine Rolls (also called Oblata Rolls until after the reign of King John) contained details of payments, in money or kind, to the King by way of oblation or fine for the enjoyment of privileges granted. These included lands, wardships, charters, liberties, grants etc.
Inquisitions reported on enquiries carried out by the Crown, most usually after the death of people who held land directly of the King, to establish whether an heir existed and to detail the exact nature and extent of the property. They also include proofs of age, assignments of dower, and inquisitions on idiots and lunatics.
Contains details of State Papers held both in the National Archives and elsewhere, and also a wide range of other documents relevant to the social, political and cultural history of the time, including details of pensions assigned to monks following the dissolution of the monasteries, and detailed statements of charges against them.
Liberate Rolls contained enrolments of writs under the Great Seal relating to expenditure. Early volumes are in reality Close Rolls, but from 1226, in the reign of Henry III, the Liberate Rolls became a distinct series. Their importance declined from the 14th century.
Patent Rolls contained copies of letters which were sent ‘patent’ or open, with the Great Seal appended at the bottom of the letter – in this they differ from letters ‘close’. They cover diverse subjects such as letters of protection and safe conduct, treaties, truces, grants and confirmations of liberties and privileges, creations of nobility, presentations to churches and chapels, etc.
Compilation of Chancery Rolls from the reigns of Edward I and II which do not properly belong to the larger series. Includes Supplementary Close Rolls 1277-1326 (close and patent letters on a particular subject with large correspondences, eg. the exportation of wool); Welsh Rolls 1277-1294 (relating to Welsh affairs, including the struggle with Llewellyn ap Griffin and commissioners’ reports on laws and customs of Wales); and Scutage Rolls 1285-1324 (recording grants of relief from payment of scutage (a fine levied on those eligible yet refusing to fight in the King’s army) to those doing service in the armies in Scotland and Wales).
Contains largely genealogical material, extracted from records of inquisitions.
Gascon Rolls comprised treaties, administrative instructions, and various letters patent and close relating to Gascony, whilst the province was under the English Crown.
The Rotuli Parliamentorum, or Parliament Rolls, contain details of all the proceedings of parliament. Before the reign of Richard III (1483), a very few actual Statutes are also included – but this is rare; usually the petitions and answers are given, but no indication as to whether a Statute arose. From 1483 to 1533, during the reign of Henry VIII, the Rolls include all the Acts, public and private, passed in each session.
The Treaty Rolls were created in the 18th century, by bringing together a number of different series of Chancery Rolls containing diplomatic documents.
The Secretary of State became an important figure under Henry VIII, having responsibility for both domestic and foreign matters. The Calendar of State Papers details the papers of the Secretary of State that are located in the Public Record Office (PRO) (those in private collections can be found in the reports of the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts (DA 25.M1)). Access via State Papers Online is from 1509-1603. The Domestic series covers domestic matters, and runs until the permanent separation of Foreign and Domestic responsibilities resulted in the creation of distinct Home and Foreign Offices in 1782.
The Secretary of State became an important figure under Henry VIII, having responsibility for both domestic and foreign matters. The Calendar of State Papers details the papers of the Secretary of State that are located in the Public Record Office (PRO) (those in private collections can be found in the reports of the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts (DA 25.M1)). Access via State Papers Online is from 1509-1603. The Foreign series covers foreign affairs, and runs until the permanent separation of Foreign and Domestic responsibilities resulted in the creation of distinct Home and Foreign Offices in 1782.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Commonly called Testa de Nevill or Liber Feodorum; this details carucage accounts, and other tax assessments and accounts, and contains extracts from the Rolls of Justices in Eyre.
There are two series of Memoranda Rolls – those of the King’s Remembrancer, and those of the Lord Treasurer’s Remembrancer. The King’s Remembrancer was broadly responsible for the collection of ‘casual’ revenue – arising from debts, taxation etc; while the Lord Treasurer’s Remembrancer was broadly responsible for the collection of ‘fixed’ revenues, mainly from land. The Memoranda Rolls detail fines issued, seizures of land, accounts, enrolments of deeds etc.
Contain treasury minutes, warrants, commissions etc. along with statements of national revenue and expenditure.
Combines information found in ‘Kirkby’s Quest’, Nomina Villarum, or Book of Aids, and the Book of Knights’ Fees. Essentially covers inquisitions into property ownership and the calculation of taxes owed – arranged by county or shire.
Note: These are published by the ‘Pipe Roll Society’ and are not found in History Records, but at per DA 20.P5 in zone 3A. It should also be noted that the publication of the Pipe Rolls is an ongoing project – there are originals dating as late as the 19th century, yet the PRS has so far reached the early 13th century.)
The Pipe Rolls, or Great Rolls of the Exchequer, contain details of the audit of accounts in the Exchequer. The debts and revenues of each shire were recorded, with the Sheriff being responsible for their payment. The summonses of the Pipe were sent to the Sheriff, detailing fixed or ordinary revenue of the shire and outstanding debts; new debts were sent via the summonses of the Green Wax.
Contain the accounts of the Master and Keeper of the Great Wardrobe (the Wardrobe being the department of the Royal Household devoted to finance).
Calendar of documents containing grants, warrants, correspondence etc. relating to the management of the Black Prince’s affairs, estates, and household in England.
Contains the valuation, plus related details, of the English and Welsh parish churches and prebends listed in the ecclesiastical taxation assessment of 1291-2. This assessment remained in force until the Valor Ecclesiasticus (below).
Contains details of the survey undertaken by Henry VIII, on the eve of the Reformation, into the nature, extent and value of ecclesiastical property in England and Wales. Arranged by dioceses
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains details of indictments, verdicts and sentences from the Home Circuit of Assizes (Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent, Surrey, and Sussex) during the reigns of Elizabeth I and James I.
Abstract of a sequence of trials conducted under special commission of oyer and terminer (commission to hear and determine indictments on specified offences), known as the Trailbaston Commission. Commission was in response to a sharp rise in violent crime and disorder, and aimed to deal swiftly with prisoners held in custody in Newgate, the Prison of London, and the Gatehouse awaiting arraignment on charges of serious or violent crimes.
Continued by the Coram Rege Rolls, the Curia Regis Rolls contain records of some of the Crown Pleas at the King’s Bench. The King’s Bench was the most powerful of the Law Courts, dealing with treason and other serious crimes.
Published in 1758 in 8 volumes, and containing details of all public and private Acts from the Magna Carta to 1756. From the reign of Richard III onwards Acts of Parliament in their final form can also be found detailed in the Parliament Rolls
Eleven volumes, commissioned by George IV in 1810, and containing details of public and private Statutes. From the reign of Richard III onwards Acts of Parliament in their final form can also be found detailed in the Parliament Rolls.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains transcribed proceedings of the House of Commons.
Contains transcribed proceedings of the House of Lords.
Note: Copies of Parliamentary Debates (commonly known as Hansard, but issued under various titles) can be found at per J 310.K2H3 (House of Commons) and per J 301.J2 (House of Lords), covering the period from 1066, and some from (1803-2005) are available via Findit@Bham. Grey’s Debates of the House of Commons and Lords, covering 1667-1803 can be found at per J 301.G7. Reports of Select Committees are also available, and are catalogued and classified by subject – searching Findit@Bham for the name of the Committee will retrieve the required information.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Designed to continue the ‘Proceedings and Ordinances of the Privy Council’, below. Contains registers of meetings of the Privy Council – detailing attendees and matters discussed (although not all matters discussed are entered in the register). The register was introduced in 1540 and was kept continuously from then on.
Reproduces in facsimile registers of meetings of the Privy Council.
Contains details of matters discussed by the Privy Council, correspondence from the King to the Privy Council members, instructions issued from the Council, and petitions to the King and Council.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Selection of 100 documents, originally written in cipher, deciphered and transcribed. The documents aim to be a representative sample to demonstrate the types of document written in cipher. Several relate to Mary Queen of Scots, and to the English Civil War.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains a wide range of official documents and correspondence relating to America, the West Indies and the East Indies.
Usually known as the Board of Trade Journals, these represent the proceedings and activities of the Board of Trade, and Inspectors of Plantations. Journals for 1675-1704 are contained in the Calendar of State Papers – Colonial Series.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains details of State papers and archives preserved in France and relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland.
Contains details of letters from the Pope, preserved in the Vatican in the Papal Registers and relating to Great Britain and Ireland. For 14th century materials, however, these are incomplete as they are based on the Vatican rather than the Avignon Registers – you will need to see also the series produced by the French School at Rome (q BX 1241-86). It should also be noted that this is an ongoing series, which is not yet complete.
Contains details of petitions to the Pope, preserved in the Vatican in the Papal Registers and relating to Great Britain and Ireland. These are, however, incomplete as they are based on the Vatican rather than the Avignon Registers – you will need to see also the series produced by the French School at Rome (q BX 1241-86). It should also be noted that this is an ongoing series, which is not yet complete.
Contains details of State papers preserved in archives and collections of Milan and relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland.
Contains details of State papers preserved in Rome, mostly in the archives of the Vatican and relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland during the reign of Elizabeth I.
Contains details of State Papers, Treaties and correspondence contained in both British and Spanish archives and collections and relating to Anglo-Spanish relations.
Contains details of State Papers preserved in the archives and collections of Venice and relating to the history of Great Britain and Ireland.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Details of national expenditure, grants etc.
Details of official documents and papers regarding issues relating to the Scottish/English border.
Contains details of English official documents and correspondence relating to Scotland, Scottish affairs, and Anglo-Scottish relations.
Contains details of English official papers relating to Scotland, Scottish affairs, and Anglo-Scottish relations.
Contains details of English State Papers relating to Scotland, Scottish affairs, and Anglo-Scottish relations.
Details income to the Scottish Treasury, in the form of taxes, land etc.
Contains details of letters and papers regarding relations between England and Scotland in the sixteenth century.
Contains records of attendance and matters discussed by the Scottish Privy Council.
The History Records collection is located in Zone 3A on the Third Floor of the Main Library. They are arranged in shelfmark order usually beginning DA 25
Contains details of English official papers and documents relating to Ireland.
Contains details of English official papers and documents relating to Ireland.
Contains details of papers, held in Lambeth Palace library and consisting of correspondence, official papers and manuscripts relating to the Carew family. The Carew family were key political and administrative figures in Ireland during the period covered.
Details the content of the Calendar above.