LibGuides: Databases for Engineers: Newspapers

Accessing Newspapers

Newspaper articles are a valuable source of information for current events and opinions. Archived issues are also for background information and historical source material. Libraries and Learning Resources subscribes to a number of titles in online or print formats. All of the resources listed below are available via FindIt@Bham or the links stated in the text.

Libraries and Learning Resources holds some titles in printed format and these can be found on the third floor. Titles currently subscribed to in print are:

The Guardian
The Observer
The Times
The Sunday Times
Suddeustche Zeitung
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Politico
Le Monde
Le Monde Diplomatique
The Baltic Times
Parlamentskaya Gazeta
Poisk

Newspapers Online

Nexis Advance UK includes the full-text of many of the broadsheets (from the mid-1980s). Many national, regional, and specialist (e.g. computing) newspaper and magazines are also available.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.

Financial Times Historical Archive 1888 - 2016 This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable facsimile run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888 to 2016, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
Financial Times 1996+ This link opens in a new window
This world renowned daily business newspaper covers global financial and economics issues as well as topic such as industry, international politics, management and personal finance.

NB: Due to a one month embargo on current content, access does not include the most recent month's articles.

ft.com This link opens in a new window
Providing financial news, market, industry and company information from the FT, ft.com provides information via a personal subscription. However, some data may be available to view for free.

The Economist 1992+
This renowned weekly newspaper covers issues in economics, trade, business, politics and current affairs worldwide.
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as providing access to the regular edition of this path-breaking newspaper, the archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.

Der Spiegel This link opens in a new window
Der Spiegel is a weekly German language news magazine. This digital archive spans content from 1947 to date.

In 1994 Der Spiegel Online was launched which contains separate editorial content. Spiegel Online International was established in 2004 and provides content in the English language.