Skip to Main Content

Finding Literature, Financial & Market Data for Your Dissertation

Financial Databases

FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) contains information on over 2.8 million (public and private) active companies in the UK and Ireland. Historical information on companies no longer active is also available. There is up to 10 years worth of information from each company.

  • Click on the Database Search on the dashboard of FindIt@Bham. In the box that appears type in Fame and click ‘Return’. A link to this database will appear below. Click on the link to access the database record. Then click on the link marked 'Resource available at:'

ACTIVITY 3A: Single Criterion Search

This activity is aimed at introducing you to Fame by searching for one company. It will provide an overview of some of the financial information available to you.

  • In the top search box which says: “Find a company” enter ‘Tesco PLC’ and click 'Return'
  • The nearest matches will be returned on the next screen. Click on the match which is for the company you require. Sometimes you will get a number of matches with the same name. To help choose the company you require use the data underneath each company name where you can see an overview of the company, including the latest accounts date, latest operating revenue (turnover) and number of employees.
  • Click on Tesco Plc and the complete report should appear. Look at the report to see the type of information that it contains (Note: from the left-hand menu you can select various sections of either the complete or standard versions of the report). For example look for the following and note:
    • What is the Profit (Loss) After Tax for 2009?
    • What is the Current Ratio for 2021?
    • What is the name of the current Company Secretary?

Tip: If you are unfamiliar with any of the terms in the report you may wish to refer to the financial terms dictionary at www.investopedia.com .

  • Before moving onto Activity 3b, return to the Fame home page and remove the 'search step' (by clicking on the cross icon) :

 

 

 

ACTIVITY 3B: Multiple Criteria Searching

This activity will look at a multiple criteria search in order to search for urban and suburban passenger land transport companies with a number of employees greater than 1500. Note in this activity we will only consider two search criteria, but when searching in the future you can use as few or as many of the search criteria from the centre of the FAME homepage in order to create a group of companies specific to your needs.

  • Click Activities and Industry from the homepage. In the right -hand box select Industry classifications . A box will appear on the left with the SIC codes. Scroll down to 49 Land transport and transport via pipelines. Click the small drop-down triangle to reveal 493 Other passenger land transport. Click the drop-down triangle next to this again to reveal 4931 Urban and suburban passenger land transport and tick the +. The selection will now transfer to the right-hand box. Click OK in the area to the right above the box. You will be taken back to the home page where you should see your criterion under the “Search Step” heading.
  • In the left-hand box below the 'Search Step'  Company and then select Number of Employees when it appears in the right-hand box. Select the following:
    • Time period: last avail. year
    • Search on Values. Enter 'Minimum' 1500
  • Click the OK button. You will once more be taken back to the home page where you should see your criterion displayed.
  • Under the Search Strategy heading you can see how many companies have been found (for each criterion and in total)
    • How many companies match all of the criteria?                                 

NOTE:

The Boolean logic combining the search criteria can be changed. Rather than the default of 1 AND 2 AND 3 (which means the companies returned will match all search criteria), the criteria can be changed to 1 OR 2 OR 3 (meaning the companies returned will match one or more of the search criteria, but not necessarily all).

  • Click on the View Results button. The companies matching your search criteria are now displayed. From this screen you can view individual company reports by clicking on the name hyperlinks.

ThomsonONE.com (T1.com) provides integrated access to authoritative company and financial data from a variety of industry-leading sources. It contains information on over 60,000 domestic and global companies. Accounting items are standardised to make company comparisons possible and share price data on each company goes back up to 10 years. Also contained are Investext broker reports as well as an extensive deals (mergers & acquisitions and equity) database. ThomsonONE.com also provides market news, exchange rate and equity indices data.

  • Use the Databases link within FindIt@Bham (findit.bham.ac.uk) to locate ThomsonONE.com. Click on the title to enter the database (Note: T1.com does not work properly using any browser other than Internet Explorer; you may experience some problems with IE11 – rectified by clicking ‘compatibility view’  next to browser address bar).

This activity will look at the Deals aspect of ThomsonONE.com

We have an extensive Deals database on ThomsonONE.com with extensive data on M&A and Equity deals. The M&A database contains details of 400,000+ global transactions as far back as 1977; the equity database contains over 80,000 global transactions since 1970 and will provide information on initial public offerings and private equity backed deals amongst other things. The deals contained in the database are updated daily.

There are many criteria in each of the deals modules that you can search on using the Advanced Search. The principles behind how each of the deals modules work is very similar.

The following example will show you how to find M&A deals for UK acquiror and target companies – the former being public – which took place between 01/01/2015 and 01/01/2016:

  • Select Screening & Analysis > Deals & League Tables > M&A > Advanced Search
  • Company Info > Location > Acquiror Nation (Code) (select UK. This is done by entering UK in the search box and clicking search. United Kingdom – UK should appear in the ‘Available Items’ box below. Either double click this item or click once to highlight the item and then click ‘Add’. Click OK).
  • Company Info > Location > Target Nation (Code) (select UK – in the same way as above).
  • Company Info > Public Status > Acquiror Public Status (Code) (select Public – in the same way as above).
  • Deal Info > Dates > Date Announced (select 01/01/2015 to 01/01/2016. This is done by selecting ‘Customise Date Range’ from the drop-down menu and then selecting the dates required – note the format: mm/dd/yyyy. Click OK).
  • You should see your 4 criteria listed under ‘Search List’. Click ‘Execute’ towards the bottom right of the screen.
    • How many deals match your criteria?
  • Click ‘Preview’ to view the deals matching your criteria: an overview for each is given. Next to each deal are one or more of the following icons which can be selected: . The first is the ‘Tearsheet’, the second the ‘Filings’ and the third the ‘News’ items.

Note: the latter two icons are not available for all of the deals.

  • You might like to choose the information which you display for each deal. This can be done by creating a report. To create a report, return to the results list. Under the heading ‘Open/Create’ towards the bottom of the screen click on ‘Create New’, ensuring that that ‘Reports’ tab is selected first.
  • Click on the ‘Data Item Groups’ in turn down the left-hand side of the page (Date, Target, Acquiror, Deal Specifics etc.). A list of data items will appear for each category in the centre of the screen. Definitions for each can be found by clicking once on the item and then clicking the ‘definition’ hyperlink beneath the list. Items can be selected by double clicking on the item. Select some items. For example:
    • Date > Date Announced
    • Target > Target Name
    • Acquiror > Acquiror Name (short)
    • Acquiror > Acquiror Macro Industry
  • When you have selected all of the items required click on ‘Apply to Search’ and give the report a file name (the file name can be anything you choose).
  • You should be returned to your list of selected criteria. Click ‘Execute’. Your customised table should be displayed for all of the deals that match your search criteria. This table can be printed or exported to Excel using the icons towards the top of the page.

The process for selecting IPOs that match certain criteria is very similar, but you need to access the Equity Advanced Search.

  • Select Screening & Analysis > Deals & League Tables > Equity > Advanced Search

Try selecting some IPOs that might be of interest. Some criteria that you might be interested in setting are as follows:

  • Company > Location > Issue/Borrower Nation
  • Deal Info > Dates > Dates: Issue Date

Deal Info > Issue Type (select IPO. This is done by either double clicking IPO or by clicking once to highlight the item and then click ‘Add’. Click OK. You may be asked: ‘The data item does not apply to all the databases in your current search results. Do you wish to include the deals from the non-applicable databases?’ Select ‘No’).

Accessibility statement