Finding Literature, Financial & Market Data for Your Dissertation

Activity 6a: NEXIS ADVANCE UK

The Nexis Advance UK database contains the full text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers (full-text as far back as the mid-1980s depending on the newspaper). The database also contains fully searchable company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database. Use the Databases link (within FindIt@Bham) to locate this resource.

• Once inside Nexis Advance UK select Power Search
• In the first box enter a search term (or terms – these can be combined using Boolean logic) of your choice into the search box.
• Select your dates. 
• Use the ‘Geography’ option to limit by country or region. 
• For example search for articles mentioning train* AND (“high speed 2” OR HS2) from the United Kingdom in the previous 6 months. How many articles are found? Which of the broadsheet newspapers contain the most coverage (you can find this out by looking at the Publication Name links from the left-hand menu)? Follow some of the hyperlinks to the full-text of the articles.

Activity 6b: Financial Times

The Financial Times Historical Archive provides electronic full-text access to The Financial Times from 1888 to 2010. This world renowned daily business newspaper covers global financial and economics issues as well as topic such as industry, international politics, management and personal finance. Accessible by typing ‘Financial Times Historical Archive’ into Databases (Nb: for more recent editions; i.e. issues published between 2011 and 2016 - with the exception of issues published in the last month - type Financial Times into Databases and select ‘Financial Times 1996+ (ProQuest)’).