LibGuides: Information Literacy Skills Support for Dubai Students: Psychology

Welcome

Welcome to the Psychology pages for Dubai Students

This page brings together key resources for the students of Engineering.

Getting Started

Here are a few important resources to help you on your way:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window ASSIA indexes and abstracts over 500 journals from 16 countries (including the UK and US) and provides coverage from 1987.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included. Full-text material includes journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
EMBASE Classic This link opens in a new window EMBASE Classic is the latest addition to Ovid's offering of archival content in the health sciences, offering immediate access to more than 1.8 million records from 43 Excerpta Medica abstract print volumes published between 1947-1973
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Please note that NLM data is also available via PubMed.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics. Search hints: ISBNs are not searchable. An author search for 'Peters, Mike' will not pick up 'Peters, Mike K'. To include all possible middle initials in your results, search on 'Peters, Mike?'
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is a gateway service to several databases covering most disciplines. The ‘roaming functionality’ enables you to access it from anywhere and still be recognised as a UoB member. For this feature to continue you must log in on campus or via Findit@Bham at least once every 12 months.

More resources

Nexis Advance UK Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as bibliographies on a range of people.

British Psychological Society - The British Psychological Society is the representative body for psychology and psychologists in the UK.
Mental Health Foundation - The work of the Mental Health Foundation is informed by rigorous research and practical based study, and has been pioneering change for more than 60 years.
Mind - UK based mental health charity.
Psychological Testing Centre - The British Psychological Society’s Psychological Testing Centre (PTC) provides information and services relating to standards in tests and testing for test takers, test users, test developers and members of the public.
School of Psychology at the University of Birmingham - 'one of the strongest and most active Psychology departments in the UK'.

See our online guide to Finding Statistics for more information.

Sections of particular interest for Psychology may include:

eBooks

You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@BhamDubai. To restrict your search:

select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or
refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the left-hand menu

The following are general collection of ebooks which cover many disciplines:

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ebooks you need to use the sign in link at the top right of FindIt@BhamDubai to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of theses resources that you are entitled to use them.

Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

There are a number of ebooks and ebook packages available which will be of interest to Business students. Below is a list of a few of them. To find more ebook collections for your area of study use the Databases option in FindIt@BhamDubai and filter your search by 'type'.

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window