Full-Text databases - IL Skills Support for Dubai - Databases for Engineers

About Full Text Resources

These databases are full-text journals from single publishers, but some contain regulations, standards and other documents.

Full text publisher collections

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library gives access to the full-text of the magazines, journals and proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
American Chemical Society Publications Journals This link opens in a new window Search the journals of the American Chemical Society. Truncation is not supported. Subject searches are done in the abstract. ISSN and ISBN searching is not supported. OR, NOT Boolean operators are only supported within the same search field. IP and Shibboleth authenticated resource
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) This link opens in a new window
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in Computer Science and Information Technology research and teaching. Its mission is to serve the Computer Science R&D community by providing a valuable publication service.
The University of Birmingham has access to content in the LNCS series from 1997.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
IOP Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 70 science journals

Full text databases

ASTM Digital Library
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world. A trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services they are known for their high technical quality and market relevancy, ASTM International standards have an important role in the information infrastructure that guides design, manufacturing and trade in the global
Barbour Environment, Health & Safety This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of UK-based health and safety information, including environment and food safety information. Contains regulations, guidelines, articles, sumaries of key documents and guides which provide a quick overview of a topic.
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text of subscribed British Standards in pdf format. These standards are officially approved specifications covering methods of testing, terminology, performance, construction requirements and codes of practice.
CIS (Construction Information Service) This link opens in a new window
CIS is a searchable database of full-text journal articles, standards, regulatory and advisory documents used by practitioners in the UK construction industry. It also includes publication from the Building Research Establishement (BRE) and the Transport Research Laboratory (TRL).
Please note we do not subscribe to the British Standards Extra Supplement within this resource. Please see the 'British Standards Online (BSOL)' resource available via FindIt@Bham.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
ABI/INFORM Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to wide range of business and management journals, newspapers, working papers, magazines etc. Access to some titles is as far back as 1923.