IL Skills Support for Dubai - Databases for Engineers

The CHEMINDEX database is a guide to information resources on over 200,000 chemicals. Each CHEMINDEX record contains identification information including chemical names and synonyms, the CAS registry number, and a list of the CCINFO databases containing information on that substance. Chemindex forms part of the CCINFO suite of databases.

Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry.
Reaxys has extensive coverage of quality, authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Expert chemists carefully select journals and patents so that only high-quality, experimental data are included. The coverage of structures, properties and citations in inorganic and organometallic chemistry is data sourced from the Gmelin database.

This is web-based version of Chemical Abstracts and requires a one time only registration to gain a personal username and password. Please go to this link to access the registration form:
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1DF29182-86F3-50AB-5B28-1F156308EAAB

SciFinder is the largest bibliographic database for the chemical sciences. In addition to the usual title/author/keyword searching it supports chemical structure and reaction searching, as well as searching for using CAS registry numbers. Journal articles, conferences and patents are also indexed.

Search hints: Please note SciFinder is only compatible with IE v.7 or above or with any version of Firefox.