LibGuides: Literature searching for Medical and Dental Sciences: Activity 3B: Embase, PsycInfo, HMIC (Ovid)

Activity 3B: Embase, PsycInfo, HMIC (Ovid)

EMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OVID) This link opens in a new window Opens in new window. EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.

Panopto video with subtitles.

Embase is on the Ovid platform. Hence the same basic principles and search techniques as Medline apply, but note that different subject headings will be found (Embase uses Emtree rather than MeSH).

For information about specific search techniques, see the Medline section of this guide, or consult the Academic Skills Centre's guide to Effective search techniques.

Try a sample topic from your subject, or the following:

Use of statins to treat hypertension

See the EndNote Online guide page "Adding References from Ovid databases" for exporting to EndNote Online. The simplest option is to save an RIS file of search results, then to import this into EndNote Online using the Import option 'RefMan RIS'.

RIS files can be uploaded into any reference management software tool.

You can also save using the Ovidweb format for EndNote, but remember to choose the filter Embase (OvidSP) or PsycInfo (OvidSP) when importing your results file into EndNote Online.

Further information on Embase

Embase guide - Radboud University, Netherlands - Excellent overview of this Ovid database which specialises in Pharmacology and Pharmacy subject areas and material

The following video from LWW Wolters Kluwer uses the PICO(T) search methodology applied to Embase (and Medline) on the Ovid platform. Use the folder icon under the video screen to show the slide notes for each slide.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.

Panopto video with subtitles.

PsycInfo is on the Ovid platform. Hence the same basic principles and search techniques as Medline apply, but note that different subject headings will be found.

For information about specific search techniques, see the Medline section of this guide, or consult the Academic Skills Centre's guide to Effective search techniques.

Try a sample topic from your subject, or the following:

Cognitive behavioural therapy for treating substance misuse in teenagers

General functions in PsycInfo are the same as for Medline. This includes Export - to Endnote, Word - Save all (search history) and the personal account and folders.

RIS files can be uploaded into any reference management software tool.

You can also save using the Ovidweb format for EndNote, but remember to choose the filter Embase (OvidSP) or PsycInfo (OvidSP) when importing your results file into EndNote Online.

Healthcare Management Information Consortium (HMIC) This link opens in a new window The Healthcare Management Information Consortium (HMIC) is an invaluable source of information for health care administrators and managers. The database is updated bi-monthly and contains essential information from two key institutions: the Library and Information Services of the Department of Health, England and the King's Fund Information and Library Service.

Panopto video with subtitles.

Overview

The Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) database is a specialized database on the Ovid platform.

Supplier description of HMIC.

Brings together the bibliographic database of two UK health and social care management organizations: the Department of Health's Library and Information Services (DH-Data) and King’s Fund Information and Library Service.
This Health Management and Policy Database, from The Healthcare Management Information Consortium (HMIC), is an invaluable source of information for health care administrators and managers. (Wolters Kluwer, 2022a)

The HMIC database uses the same platform and layout as other Ovid databases such as Medline, Embase, PsycInfo, so searches can be performed in similar ways. A thesaurus or indexing system is used, similar to MeSH in Medline or Emtree in Embase.

For information about specific search techniques, see the Medline section of this guide, or consult the Academic Skills Centre's guide to Effective search techniques.

RIS files can be uploaded into any reference management software tool.

Detailed information about HMIC can be found on the supplier database guide (Wolters Kluwer, 2022b).

Reference

Wolters Kluwer (2022a) HMIC Database. Available at: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/ovid/hmic-database-99 (Accessed 21 July 2022)

Wolters Kluwer (2022b) Health Management Information Consortium database guide. Available at: https://ospguides.ovid.com/OSPguides/hmicdb.htm (Accessed 21 July 2022)