Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Health Services Management Centre (HSMC) Subject Pages
This page brings together key resources for the students of Health Services Management. Use the tabs above to help you find books, ebooks, articles, journals and more
Here are some important resources to help you on your way:
This Health Management and Policy Database, from The Healthcare Management Information Consortium (HMIC), is an invaluable source of information for health care administrators and managers.
This unique product is updated bi-monthly and contains essential information from two key institutions: the Library & Information Services of the Department of Health, England and the King's Fund Information & Library Service.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Please note that NLM data is also available via PubMed.
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included. Full-text material includes journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.