Zotero for starters

Downloading the browser extension, or Zotero Connector will usually enable direct export of selected items from a bibliographic database such as Web of Science.

• Ensure you have also opened the separate Zotero App on your laptop or PC before database searching
• When in a database or other source, simply use the Connector on your toolbar at the top right of your browser to transfer selected items to Zotero.  For full details in each database group, see the instructions in the sections below.  You can use the right-hand menu in the guide to go directly to each database group details

An alternative method of exporting results from databases is to generate a file of results for separate uploading.

• In the database: select the required results, usually by ticking boxes next to these references
• Look for an Export option and file types to choose from
• Then save a file of these references to desktop: usually this is  .RIS; BibTex is an accepted alternative
• In Zotero: find and upload the file using the Find menu and Import option*

See the full list of file types which can be uploaded.    

Go to Web of Science (Core Collection) on FindIt@Bham and perform a search.

• ​Choose results to save by ticking the box to the left of each, or Select page at the top

• Then click on the Zotero folder icon to the right of the toolbar

• This should then show a pop-up of all available results to export from the Web of Science page

• Tick the required results: the 'Saving to' icon confirms export to Zotero

• You can then click and drag the results across into a specific folder or collection as required 

If the browser extensions (Connector) is not enabled, or the Zotero App not opened, then you may see a pop-up message:

• "Import items from ets.webofknowledge.com into Zotero?" with a tick-box to "Always allow for this site"

• Accept this: results should then go into the Connector tab top right of your screen

​Marked List:

• If the option to save results to the marked list in Web of Science is used, a file will need to be downloaded and then separately imported into Zotero

If you have the Zotero Connector extension to your web browser, this allows direct export from Proquest.

Perform a search in a relevant Proquest database or collection, then select the results you wish to export.

• Now click on the Zotero Connector tab - browser extension - at the top right of your screen or toolbar.  This should show as a yellow folder when you are in Proquest.

• If the Zotero Connector produces a pop-up of the available items, tick individual results or select all, and OK

• This will then activate the export or saving of the references from the database to Zotero

• You can then click and drag the results across into a specific folder or collection as required. 

Perform a search in Jstor.

Click the Zotero Connector icon top right.

• NB: this will produce a pop-up panel with all the results on that screen listed individually.  
• You can then choose which results to save to your Zotero library.
• Tick boxes for individual results, or select all.  Then OK. 

• These results should then be saved to your Zotero account: check for the standard pop-up indicating which folder or collection these are being transferred to
• You can change the collection destination at that point if you wish

• If the results are in the overall My Library list, then select the references, and click and drag to the required collection

Perform a search in an Ovid database such as Medline.

Then tick boxes to select required results.

• Now click on the Zotero Connector tab - browser extension - at the top right of your screen or toolbar.  This should show as a yellow folder when you are in Medline.

• If the Zotero Connector produces a pop-up of the available items, tick individual results or select all, and OK

• This will then activate the export or saving of the references from the database to Zotero.

• You can then click and drag the results across into a specific folder or collection as required. 

Perform a search in an EBSCO database such as Business Source Premier or CINAHL.

Click the Zotero Connector icon top right

• NB: this will produce a pop-up panel with all the results on that screen listed individually.  
• You can then choose which results to save to your Zotero library.
• Tick boxes for individual results, or select all.  Then OK. 

• In your Zotero account, you can locate the items by searching for EBSCO.
• There are two lines for each record, one showing date of upload, the other is the actual reference
• Select the required references, then click and drag to the required Zotero collection or folder