Activity 6: Using databases - ProQuest group - Finding information for Health Economics

Activity 6: Using databases - ProQuest group

ABI/INFORM Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new window Full-text access to wide range of business and management journals, newspapers, working papers, magazines etc. Access to some titles is as far back as 1923.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window Collection of business and related databases on the ProQuest platform.
Business Databases This link opens in a new window
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Collection of medical and health databases on the Proquest platform: choose individual databases if a systematic literature review is being undertaken.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window IBSS includes over 2.6 million references to journal articles, books, reviews from 1951 onwards and includes a higher proportion of foreign language works than other sources
Nursing and Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable collection of 19 databases indexing sociology, the applied social sciences, linguistics, politics, physical education, criminal justice and Islamic studies, as well as British and American theses in these subjects.
Public Health This link opens in a new window Part of ProQuest's Health and Medicine collection. "ProQuest Public Health ... [covers] public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text." Includes journal and newspaper articles and dissertations. Journals indexed include Public Health Nutrition and American Journal of Public Health.

Sample search on ProQuest ASSIA database: Panopto video (includes sub-titles). Scroll to the end of this page for a further example relating to Health Economics and using the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.

ProQuest platform and databases

The ProQuest platform hosts a wide range of databases which can be selected individually or as grouped Collections. For systematic literature reviews, best practice is to choose and search one database at a time: however, subject collections can also be very useful for general and cross-subject searches.

Search techniques and examples

Literature searching guide (Activity 3E)

Supplier search guidance

ProQuest platform: including Basic Search and Advanced Search. Includes videos, Word transcripts and PDF guides

To view, browse and select collections or specific databases

Locate and open a ProQuest database, or databases, on FindIt@Bham
In ProQuest, select 'Change databases' then 'View by subject'. Broader collections or nested sub collections can be selected from there as well as individual choices

Relevant collections for health economics include

Business databases
Health and Medicine (including Health and Medical sub-collection)
Social Sciences (including Social Science Premium Collection)

ProQuest sample search - Social Sciences Premium Collection

In Advanced Search, a whole search can be constructed on the landing page using 'Add a row' for further search lines where required. The default Boolean connector is AND.

For a more systematic approach, enter then search using one search line at a time. These can be then combined by selecting 'Recent Searches'.

Here, the search lines are:

Covid-19 OR Sars-Cov2 OR "novel coronavirus" OR nCov19

AND

vaccin*

AND

cost-benefit OR cost-utility OR "economic evaluation" OR cost-effective*

In the results screen, further options or filters are available, such as Publication Date [range], Location, Language.

To save individual or sets of results, select as required and go to 'All save & export options' (currently the 3 dots icon). RIS is the default option for downloading a standard file type to upload into referencing software such as EndNote Online.

To save search histories, use Save search/alert: set up a My Research account with ProQuest to enable this feature.