LibGuides: EndNote Online: Using EndNote Online with Word

Using Endnote Online with Word

Cite While you Write (CWYW)

Cite while you Write is a plug-in which enables you to insert citations and references lists from EndNote Online directly into Word documents. Make sure you CWYW is already installed before proceeding.

Important Note for UoB users: if you are using a University laptop or other equipment for your work, and wish to use EndNote Online in Word, then please see the information at the end of this page under "Note for UoB staff or other users of University equipment: Cite While You Write (CWYW)" before proceeding.

Important note for all users: cloud-based versions of Word (such as within Microsoft's SharePoint) are not compatible with CWYW. Word documents should be stored and edited in the desktop version of Word for use with CWYW. (Memorial Sloan Kettering Library, 2023).

Campus PCs

The Cite while You Write plug-in should already be installed in campus PCs

However: this may be set to the separate product EndNote Desktop
Go to 'Settings for CWYW' on this page for changing this to EndNote Online

Personal Equipment

In your EndNote Online account, go to Downloads and follow the instructions to download CWYW for either Windows or MACs: this should then appear as an "Endnote" tab in your Word documents.

Read these detailed instructions to check you are following the required steps for downloading and installing CWYW:

MACs
Windows

Windows

Settings for CWYW

Open up Word on the campus PC (or laptop) you are using, and go to the Endnote tab

Select Preferences and then Application in the pop-up
In Application, choose Endnote Online (not 'Endnote' as this is the Desktop version)
Endnote Online subscription should be https://my.endnote.com; you should enter your Uni email and Endnote Online / Web of Science account password in the two boxes for Email address and Password, as in the screenshot below

To install Cite while you Write on your own laptop or PC, open your Endnote Online account and go to:
- 'Format' - 'Cite while you Write plugin'
- Or: 'Downloads' - and follow the 'Cite while you Write' instructions on that page
This will involve downloading an .exe file to open, with options to install Cite while you Write and / or the Capture Reference tool for generating reference entries from web pages: always include Cite while you Write

When asked for your email and password, these should always be your University email and the password you set up for your Endnote Online account (or account with the Web of Science platform which hosts Endnote Online)

Download instructions are provided for both Windows and MAC computers

Now open Word and you should see an EndNote tab on the ribbon at the top of the screen

Go to Preferences - Application
Select Endnote Online and enter your Uni email and Endnote / Web of Science account password

MAC Users

If you are using a MAC and encounter problems when first trying to use Cite While You Write / Word, try the following.

Close any Word windows you have open
Open just one Word document
In the EndNote tab in Word, go to Preferences - Applications
Type / paste in this URL: http://my.endnote.com
'OK' this, then close the document and Word programme
Open a fresh Word document
Go to the EndNote tab and check if you can Insert Citations

If this does not work, then check your password for your Web of Science / Endnote Online account. If the password includes one of the special characters !, @ , then you should change the password to remove these characters. You can change your password by going to http://www.myendnoteweb.com/ .

Referencing Styles (output styles)

When you have installed the Plug-In and have the EndNote Online tab in Word you should find a range of referencing styles available to you via the drop-down styles menu. If the style you require is not listed click on Select Another Style to see the full list.

Selecting further styles

If you find that your styles drop-down menu is empty, or you would like a tailored list of styles, you can choose which style(s) you would like from within EndNote Online (Web).

In EndNote Online click on the 'Format' tab then choose 'Bibliography'
Click on 'Select Favorites'
Scroll through the list of styles, highlight and select 'Copy to Favorites' to create your own list

You should now see these styles available to you in your own version of Word.

Note for UoB staff or other users of personally issued University equipment*: Cite While You Write (CWYW)

For University of Birmingham staff (or other UoB users) who wish to use Cite While You Write together with EndNote Online on personally issued University equipment.*

Option 1

Download the full Endnote Desktop programme from the Software Centre: this includes the CWYW plugin which should auto-install in Word
However, you will need to set the Preferences in Word to Endnote Online if you wish to use Endnote Online not Desktop. See instructions below
Note: you may need to be on campus to download Endnote Desktop: check Software / IT Helpdesk pages for details

Option 2

Download CWYW via the Downloads or Format buttons in Endnote Online
You may need to log a call with IT Helpdesk to do so due to Administration settings on downloads

Setting CWYW to Endnote Online in Word

In Word, go to the Endnote tab
Locate and open Preferences
In the Preferences pop-up, select Application
In Application, choose Endnote Online and enter the required details there
- https://my.endnote.com
- University email address
- Password for Web of Science account (enabling Endnote Online)

NB: as Endnote Desktop is recommended for doctoral [PhD], other researchers and University staff generally, you should first consider your requirements. The Research Skills Support Team's Endnote page has more information

*Personally issued University equipment:

This does not include equipment permanently installed in lecture theatres, seminar rooms etc
It refers specifically to laptops or office desktop computers issued by the University to staff for work purposes

For queries relating to equipment installed in lecture theatres (etc), staff should contact IT Services in the first instance.

Referencing Styles

In all cases, you should always check with your tutors or Programme regarding specific stipulations on referencing: they are the final arbiters of your work.

You should also always proof-read closely any citations and reference lists produced by any referencing software programme, and make any edits required to match them with the examples in the required style.

Harvard Style

Please note that there are different variations of the Harvard style of referencing.

Cite them right Harvard

Examples in UoB Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Harvard pages use the 'Cite them right Harvard' style, as used in the “Cite them right” guide (Pears and Shields, 2019) and the online resource “Cite them right online”, as well as the Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Guide pages for Harvard.
If you are using Endnote Online (or Desktop) and wish to produce citations and references as per the examples in the iCite Harvard pages (and Cite them right), then choose the “Cite them right Harvard” style from the lists available in Endnote Online

If you are an undergraduate or taught postgraduate (PGT) student, you are welcome to book an appointment with the Academic Skills Centre to discuss referencing and Endnote Online queries.

Panopto video from the Academic Skills Centre, University of Birmingham: includes sub-titles.Sign in to Canvas in a separate tab or window to enable viewing.

"Find and insert citations": Clarivate Analytics support page (Endnote Online).

Insert Citation

From the EndNote tab in Word, choose Insert Citation - Find Citation.

This opens up a dialogue box where you can search for a reference by author, title or keyword
Highlight the desired reference and click on Insert

Quick search operators (Clarivate Analytics: Endnote Online) has advanced search tips for locating citations.

From the Insert button in the Cite While You Write pop-up, there are further options: year or author can be excluded if this is required.

Page Numbers

Where page numbers are needed in the in-text citation, these can be added after by highlighting the citation and selecting Edit Citation at the top left, then adding the page numbers either against 'Pages' or in 'Suffix'.

In 'Pages, only the actual number or numbers are required.

When using 'Suffix', punctuation and 'p' or 'pp' are required, eg , p. 97. These are not needed if the 'Pages' box is used.

Reference Lists

This also generates a reference list at the end of the document with the full details according to the referencing style chosen.

Note that for Vancouver style, you will need to edit the journal titles in the reference list entries: see above for details.

Annotated bibliography / reference list

To generate an annotated bibliography or reference list, you will need to add the annotations to the item entry in "Research Notes" field, select an annotated style (eg APA 6th-annotated or 7th -annotated) either in your Word document or when generating a standalone list. You will need to add the style to your favourites to enable its use.

See "Standalone bibliography" in Endnote Online and Word in this guide.

Vancouver Style

Panopto video from Academic Skills Centre, University of Birmingham (includes subtitles).

The Vancouver referencing style uses abbreviated titles for journals. These abbreviations are not included in Endnote Online, so if you working with Vancouver, you will need to either edit the details for each record in Endnote Online itself, or to edit the individual references in the reference list in Word to change the full journal title to the abbreviated form.

To edit the record details in your Endnote Online library, open the item record and replace the full journal title with the abbreviated version. Clarivate Analytics have a support page outlining the steps involved
To edit in Word, highlight and remove each journal title in your final reference list or bibliography, and replace the title with the abbreviation
You can find the recognized abbreviations by using the journal title to search the National Library of Medicine Catalog, journals page

Query: I can only see a short list of styles in Word

Have you selected favourite styles in EndNote online?

Login to EndNote online
Choose Format -> Bibliography
- Click on Select Favorites to the right of the boxes and add the style you want
The added styles should then display in Word - Cite While You Write
You can also clear your favourites with 'Remove from Favorites' to see all available styles

Referencing Styles

In all cases, you should always check with your tutors or Programme regarding specific stipulations on referencing: they are the final arbiters of your work.

Harvard Style

Please note that there are different variations of the Harvard style of referencing.

Cite them right Harvard

Examples in UoB Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Harvard pages use the 'Cite them right Harvard' style, as used in the “Cite them right” guide (Pears and Shields, 2019) and the online resource “Cite them right online”, as well as the Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Guide pages for Harvard.
If you are using Endnote Online (or Desktop) and wish to produce citations and references as per the examples in the iCite Harvard pages (and Cite them right), then choose the “Cite them right Harvard” style from the lists available in Endnote Online

If you are an undergraduate or taught postgraduate (PGT) student, you are welcome to book an appointment with the Academic Skills Centre to discuss referencing and Endnote Online queries.

Reference List / Bibliography: formatting.

Note that your references may appear consecutively in the final list without the required line-spacing.

To change this, click on the arrow to the right of 'Bibliography' in the Endnote tab in Word
This produces a pop-up to 'Configure Bibliography'
Select the 'Layout' option at the top of the pop-up
In this area of the pop-up you can change the line spacing if required, and the space after
Change 'space after' to at least single space to create a gap between each reference
At the same time, you can enter a Bibliography Title: 'Reference List' should be enough; this will help to separate the list from the body of the text

Referencing Styles

In all cases, you should always check with your tutors or Programme regarding specific stipulations on referencing: they are the final arbiters of your work.

Harvard Style

Please note that there are different variations of the Harvard style of referencing.

Cite them right Harvard

Examples in UoB Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Harvard pages use the 'Cite them right Harvard' style, as used in the “Cite them right” guide (Pears and Shields, 2019) and the online resource “Cite them right online”, as well as the Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Guide pages for Harvard.
If you are using Endnote Online (or Desktop) and wish to produce citations and references as per the examples in the iCite Harvard pages (and Cite them right), then choose the “Cite them right Harvard” style from the lists available in Endnote Online

If you are an undergraduate or taught postgraduate (PGT) student, you are welcome to book an appointment with the Academic Skills Centre to discuss referencing and Endnote Online queries.

Create a bibliography with Endnote Online

Panopto video from Academic Skills Centre, University of Birmingham (includes subtitles). Sign in to Canvas in a separate tab or window to enable viewing.

If you want to create a quick bibliography or you don't use Word, you can create a bibliography from EndNote online.

From the Format menu tab, click on Bibliography.

Choose the options for your Bibliography
Whilst you cannot choose individual references for a bibliography, you can choose a whole Group
Click Preview & Print to see the Bibliography
It is very easy to change Bibliographic styles. You can select favourite styles using the Select Favorites link
Vancouver style: you will need to replace the full journal title in the bibliography or reference list with the abbreviated form available by searching the National Library of Medicine Catalog (journals search page)

Annotated bibliographies 1

To create an annotated bibliography, you need to first select a suitable style and add it to your Favorites in Endnote Online
- Two examples are: APA 6th-Annotated, and APA 7th-Annotated
In each individual record in Endnote Online, you need to add your annotations to the Research Notes field before generating a bibliography or reference list: to do this, simply click on the item title to open up the detailed fields; Research Notes is towards the end. Open up this field and add your information

Then generate the bibliography within Endnote Online, or insert your citations to create the bibliography within a Word document: make sure to select one of the styles indicated above

Marian University Libraries have also summarised the Annotated Bibliography process

Annotated bibliographies 2

An alternative is to use the Abstract field of the item record in Endnote Online to enter Annotations (clear the field first, of course).

Then use a style which includes the abstract in the full reference in the bibliography or reference list
The Annotated style uses the Abstract field in this way

Referencing Styles

In all cases, you should always check with your tutors or Programme regarding specific stipulations on referencing: they are the final arbiters of your work.

Harvard Style

Please note that there are different variations of the Harvard style of referencing.

Cite them right Harvard

Examples in UoB Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Harvard pages use the 'Cite them right Harvard' style, as used in the “Cite them right” guide (Pears and Shields, 2019) and the online resource “Cite them right online”, as well as the Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Guide pages for Harvard.
If you are using Endnote Online (or Desktop) and wish to produce citations and references as per the examples in the iCite Harvard pages (and Cite them right), then choose the “Cite them right Harvard” style from the lists available in Endnote Online

If you are an undergraduate or taught postgraduate (PGT) student, you are welcome to book an appointment with the Academic Skills Centre to discuss referencing and Endnote Online queries.

Edit Citations

To change the output style you can select an alternative from the drop down Style box in Word. The changes will be instant.

To edit citations you must use command options available in EN or Word - if you try to edit the body of the text in Word, the changes will not be permanently stored. Place your cursor in the reference to be amended then click on Edit Citation(s).

You can select to Exclude Year, and/or Author, if you have already mentioned these in the body of your text.

You can add information in the Prefix or Suffix fields, for instance in the prefix or page numbers in the suffix fields.

Please note: do not use the Pages field for page numbers unless you know that your style (e.g. APA 7) uses this field. If you are unsure use the Suffix field and enter the page(s) as you would like it to appear in the citation, e,g, p.1.

Footnotes

It is possible to add a footnote to your document if you are using a numbered citation style. You need to use Word first to insert the note.

Select the References tab in Word.
Click Insert Footnote or Insert Endnote.
Then follow the instructions to insert a citation.

Referencing Styles

In all cases, you should always check with your tutors or Programme regarding specific stipulations on referencing: they are the final arbiters of your work.

Harvard Style

Please note that there are different variations of the Harvard style of referencing.

Cite them right Harvard

Examples in UoB Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Harvard pages use the 'Cite them right Harvard' style, as used in the “Cite them right” guide (Pears and Shields, 2019) and the online resource “Cite them right online”, as well as the Libraries and Learning Resources' iCite Guide pages for Harvard.
If you are using Endnote Online (or Desktop) and wish to produce citations and references as per the examples in the iCite Harvard pages (and Cite them right), then choose the “Cite them right Harvard” style from the lists available in Endnote Online

If you are an undergraduate or taught postgraduate (PGT) student, you are welcome to book an appointment with the Academic Skills Centre to discuss referencing and Endnote Online queries.