Skip to Main Content
Company & Financial Information
Bloomberg This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg provides real-time worldwide market data and continuous news updates. It includes financial and economic data as well as commodities, derivatives and forecast information. It covers all countries and markets and data can go back to the 1980s. There are 11 terminals in the Alan Walters building; a 12th terminal is available in the Main Library (1st floor). Please note that the terminals in Alan Walters are in a teaching cluster and so teaching may be in progress in the room at certain times of the day. The PC in the Main Library can be booked via: https://www.mypcbooking.bham.ac.uk
BoardEx (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
BoardEx provides in-depth profiles on world business leaders that show the relationship between and amongst these individuals. For tips, go to https://era.library.ualberta.ca/communities/b41cdbfd-6af2-4a13-8ba6-59725565d445/collections/82fbdb4f-1202-4123-acf5-96d7aeb874a5. Access is available via WRDS.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a research platform and business intelligence tool which provides the user with one location to access data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, ESG, and Statistics.
Datastream This link opens in a new window
Datastream® provides powerful global macroeconomic data allowing you to get the complete picture on virtually any macro environment, better understand economic cycles to uncover trends, and forecast market conditions. Datastream includes: global key indicator economic time series; history back to the 1950s for G7, 1970s for other major markets, 1980s for smaller countries; economic profiles for 175 countries from national, primary sources and major international organizations; access to active & inactive equity pricing & reference data; intraday updates.
Fame - Bureau van Dijk This link opens in a new window
Database containing information on over 2.8 million (public and private) active companies in the UK and Ireland for up to 10 years.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
MarketLine provides access to company, country and industry intelligence as well as news and case studies. Over 3,500 industry profiles, 30,000 company profiles and 110 country profiles the resource also includes Financial Deals as well as Consumer Statistics and Market Data.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Passport provides millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide. The analysis and statistics (historical and future), such as market sizes and brand share data, are presented both at industry level (e.g. hot drinks) and individual product level (e.g. tea).
Websites
- United Nations Statistical Division
United Nations Statistical Division provides many useful links. For example click on the Statistical Databases tab and you will see a link on the left hand side of the next page to ‘National Statistics’ which will take you to a database of national statistical agencies. Use Internet Explorer to avoid the need to download a plug-in.
- Governments on the WWW
Governments on the WWW provides links to governmental departments, agencies, political parties etc. worldwide; for tracking statistics not produced by the national statistics agencies.
- Market Access Database
Market Access Database produced by the Trade, European Commission. This database provides imports value and quantity as well as exports value and quantity between user-specified EU and non-EU countries and for a given product. Select the Statistical Database from the Home Page. Data back to 2002.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF is an organisation of 185 countries that works to foster global growth and economic stability. Click on the Data and Statistics tab to view the wide range of data available. Some data is free of charge others, such as International Financial Statistics, ask you to ‘order here’. No need to order as many are available via ESDS International and/or Datastream.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development consists of 30 governments and provides a huge amount of economic and social data. Select the Statistics link from the left-hand menu. Like for IMF, some of the more important subscription-based OECD data can be found on ESDS International and/or Datastream.
- World Bank
The World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries.
- IMF
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- World Health Organization
WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable.
- International Labour Organisation
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
- Bank of England​
Statistics on the monetary and financial system relevant to Bank of England policy and regulatory responsibilities
